logo top

Winter 2023 - 2024 Varsity Athletic Awards

Winter 2023 - 2024 Varsity Athletic Awards
The Marianapolis Athletics Department hosted the Winter Varsity Athletic Awards Ceremony on Thursday, March 21, 2024. It was a great evening celebrating our athletes and their achievements, reminiscing on memories from the winter season, and being together as a community!
Jacque Rivera, Athletic Director, began the ceremony by sharing his appreciation and gratitude towards our winter athletes, coaches, and families. They truly make our athletic department a remarkable one.
Birdie Forgues ‘24 was welcomed back to host for the evening. She shared a Muhammad Ali quote that has always resonated with her. “If [your] mind can conceive it, and [your] heart can believe it, then [you] can achieve it.” This seemed very fitting as we recognized the perseverance and dedication of our winter athletes.
A few members from each team shared season highlights, such as goals for the next season, the most memorable game, and more as a way for their team to remember what a special season it was.
Team representatives Charles O’Brien ’26 and Mary Kate Barnwell ’27 from Varsity Swimming said, “Our most memorable meet was our last home meet when we had more swimmers competing than any other meet.” Next season, they are excited to “grow as a team, both in size and swimming ability.”
Alanna Phillipo ’24 and Aryanna Sheehan ’26 spoke on behalf of the Girls’ Varsity Basketball team. Their most memorable games were competing against Tabor Academy and The Rivers School. Phillipo and Sheehan shared, “Even though we had a challenging season and we had lots of injuries, we kept pushing through and supporting each other.”
Congratulations to our winter athletes, award recipients, and coaches on a wonderful season filled with growth, memories, and hard work!
Boys’ Varsity Basketball
Top Newcomer Award: Tim Bollen ’24
Most Improved Award: Peyton Manyak ’24
Outstanding Achievement Award: Harrison Stanwood ’24 
Golden Knight Award: Anthony Zingarella ’24
Girls’ Varsity Basketball 
Top Newcomer Award: Maeve Early ’27 
Most Improved Award: Olivia Kowalski ’24 and Baileigh Kimball ’27
Outstanding Achievement Award: Alanna Phillipo ’24
Golden Knight Award: Aryanna Sheehan ’26
Four-Year Varsity Award: Olivia Kowalski ’24
Varsity Wrestling
Top Newcomer Award: Brighton Keegan ’27 
Most Improved Award: Madeline Joyce ’25
Outstanding Achievement Award: Abigail Alicandro ’24
Golden Knight Award: Murphy Codding ’26
Four-Year Varsity Award: Abigail Alicandro ’24 
100th Win at Hamden Hall on January 13, 2024: Abigail Alicandro ’24
Varsity Indoor Track and Field
Top Newcomer Award: Owen Brown ’27
Most Improved Award: Henry LaMountain ’27 
Outstanding Achievement Award: Santiago Navarro ’24
Golden Knight Award: William Savoie ’24
Varsity Swimming
Top Newcomer Award: Phuong Nhi Duong ’24 
Most Improved Award: Pin-Yen Chu ’25 
Outstanding Achievement Award: Mary Kate Barnwell ’27
Golden Knight Award: Charles O’Brien ’26
Other Awards
All NEPSAC: Harrison Stanwood ’24
All NEPSAC Honorable Mention: Sidney Hall ’24
A photo gallery is available to view here