logo top

Sydney Masciarelli '21 Reaches 1,000 Point Basketball Milestone

Sydney Masciarelli '21 Reaches 1,000 Point Basketball Milestone

In a February 24 game against Loomis Chaffee, junior Sydney Masciarelli of Northbridge, MA became the ninth female in Marianapolis history to reach 1,000 points in her basketball career.

“I’m truly blessed to reach this milestone, and I want to thank my teammates, coaches, and support group for helping me make this possible,” Masciarelli said. This season, she is averaging 20.8 points per game, 7.2 assists per game, 4.1 steals per game, and 8 rebounds per game. Masicarelli plays the point guard or the shooting guard position.

“Words cannot express how proud I am of Sydney to not only reach this milestone, but to reach it as a junior,” said Girls’ Varsity Head Coach Kirsty Leedham. “This year has been a special year for Sydney, as she has grown as both a teammate and a leader on the court. Watching Sydney improve on the court and make her teammates better is very rewarding as her coach. She makes practice extremely enjoyable with her vibrant personality and she couldn’t be more deserving of this accomplishment. Sydney has only begun to scratch the surface as far as what she is capable of, and I am honored to be part of her journey.”

Other female basketball players from Marianapolis to reach 1,000 points include Irene Altdorf in 1982, Lynne Quintal in 1983, Jeanette Bugajski in 1995, Stacey Baron in 1995, Alyson Stolz in 2011, Melanie Mills in 2012, Sydney Latour in 2013, and Olivia Summiel in 2019.

Besides being a basketball standout, Masciarelli is a national champion in both cross country and track and field. In 2018, she was crowned the Foot Locker Cross Country Champion, and came in 7thplace at the race in 2019. She also won two titles at the New Balance Track & Field Nationals in 2019. She is a three-time Gatorade Connecticut Player of the Year (2018 & 2019 Gatorade Connecticut Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year and 2019 Gatorade Connecticut Girls Track and Field Athlete of the Year).